Foodsoft sustainability

Hey all,

I’ve raised an issue and would also like to open it here to allow discussion outside of Github.

https://github.com/foodcoops/foodsoft/issues/727

"Hey friends, thanks for caring to maintain this software for so long without support and using your free time. I am developer myself so I know how it goes. However, I am not a Ruby developer and therefore wonder how I can help this effort.

I have been thinking about sustainability here. Many coops are using this software but which of them is supporting the foodsoft project? You know that a lot of volunteer hours can go into this project and without some financial support this becomes unsustainable.

So, what about a https://liberapay.com / https://opencollective.com collective account for those that manage the software. Ideally each coop that uses foodsoft would commit to contribute some amount on a regular basis. This allows to at least invoice some time spent against the project so as to get paid a little.

There would be some work to get the coops involved to start contirbuting but I guess it would work out. I am happy to commit to coordinating this if there is agreement on the direction.

Thoughts?"

Hi,

Our foodcoop may financially support foodsoft, given we can get it working properly. I’ll talk about it at our next meeting.

I’ve also been thinking about contributing to the project, but my skills and those of other members of our foodcoop don’t cover development. We could maintain and improve the french documentation, as well as helping translation.
Sadly, I’m on my own to administer the foodcoop’s server and already spent dozens of hours trying to install it with very poor success (still no emails at that time), wich prevents me from doing further contribution.